Reviews

I am always delighted to receive feedback from my guests. I am fortunate enough to have guests who return year on year and I hope this gives an indication of what you can expect.  Here is a selection of reviews gathered directly from guests or Google Maps:

 

Thank you once again for your wonderful hospitality for the 2 days I stayed with you last week. I will certainly contact you again next time I go to London as your location was perfect, the room was impeccable and your English breakfast was much appreciated and tasty.  I will no doubt come back with my husband and even my grown up kids next time.

Reviewed: July 2017 - Tina Dohou

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gilly- Thank you for having us at your home last weekend. We were very comfortable, excellent breakfasts, and your attention to our needs were exceptional ! Booking a table at the Sapori Sardi , which was a great success, and taking us to our venue at Imperial Wharf  on Sunday was kind of you.

Reviewed: June 2017 - Philip, Lesley & Emily

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We had a wonderful stay at Gilly. The house is very tastefully decorated with nice furniture and
the breakfast is lovingly made to our wishes. Also you have a good transport connection by bus and the subway to the city center. Gilly gave us very good tips and we will come back very gladly.

Reviewed: May 2017 - Sibylle Baar

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Stayed again at the wonderful Hurlingham B&B, unique comfort with fabulous breakfast from the most, as always, charming host Gilly. Highly recommend.

Reviewed: March 2017 - Fiona and Peter Robinson

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Italian:

 

Abbiamo trascorso tre notti presso l'Hurlingham B&B durante una breve vacanza a Londra in novembre e ci siamo trovati veramente bene.

 

La sistemazione era ottima: una camera con un grande letto matrimoniale, pulita e arredata con cura; il bagno (con vasca da bagno) in camera. Gilly, la padrona di casa, è molto ospitale e prepara un'ottima colazione all'inglese.

 

La casa è molto vicina alla stazione della metropolitana di Putney Bridge (5 minuti a piedi) ed è in una zona molto tranquilla.

 

Numerose possibilità di cenare nei dintorni, nonostante non sia un'area centrale.

 

Consigliamo vivamente questo B&B.

 

English translation:

 

We spent three nights at the Hurlingham B&B during a short holiday in London in November.

 

We found an excellent accommodation: our room was clean and gracefully furnished with a very comfortable wide double bed. The full bathroom (with bath tub) was in the room.

 

Gilly, the owner, was very welcoming and served a delicious English breakfast.

 

The house is very close to the Putney Bridge tube station (5 minutes walk) and is located in a calm and peaceful area.

 

In the surroundings there are many possibilities for dinner, although is not a central area.

 

We would highly recommend Gilly's B&B.

 

Reviewed: November 2016 - Paola Negri Cesi & Georgio

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Gilly is the perfect host!
My parents stayed in her B&B for a weekend when they visited me in London, as I live around the corner. They were over the moon and super happy about the whole experience. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. It was quiet as well and my parents said that they could NOT hear any plane noise (I was worried about this initially).
I joined for breakfast which was a great full English - homemade with fresh ingredients. Lovely bread as well.
Can highly recommend staying at Gilly's B&B if you're looking for a special place that is conveniently located.
 

Reviewed: November 2016 Melanie Wagenfort

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

We very much enjoyed our stay with Gilly, who is the perfect host.
The rooms are clean and bright and the breakfasts were a delicious start to our days sightseeing London.

Will definitely visit again next time!
Mike & Iona

Reviewed: August 2016 Mike Farley

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

I had three days to explore London during early March 2016. I prefer personalized accommodation above sterile hotel rooms when travelling and exploring a new city. My search led me to Gilly Belfrage's "Hurlingham Bed and Breakfast." It has everything. It's a charming, stylish and pristine establishment. Great care was taken with the interior decoration in classical cottage style furbishing. A mere a five minute walk from the Thames river, several parks, the famous Hurlingham club, the Underground tube system and several bus routes. A five to ten minute walk in the opposite direction takes one to the Chelsey town centre with a vast choice of restaurants, coffee shops, pubs and specialty shops.

Gilly was instrumental in my obtaining an oyster transportation card which gave me limitless access to traveling by bus and underground to Picadilly square, Buckingham Palace , the Tower Bridge and literally anywhere in London, most within a 30 minute commute.

Gilly's famous breakfast did not disappoint. A stay away from home, with all the care and warmth of home. I misjudged myself with the weather and without thinking twice, Gilly lent me a raincoat and also drove me with her car to do a walk-about at her beloved Hurlingham club.

You will not be disappointed. Five stars for an outstanding establishment!

 

Reviewed: March 2016 Danie Botha

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

E' gia la seconda volta che abbiamo soggiornato al Hurlingham B&B e siamo molto soddisfatti. Tipico ambiente inglese e signora molto gentile. Breakfast tipico inglese e molto buono. Ottima relazione prezzo-qualità. Da non sottostimare la vicinanza del metrò che vi porta in centro in 20-25 minuti e la zona residenziale con un bel parco vicino.
Martina e Luc

Reviewed: February 2016 Luc Bracke

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

I had a super time at Hurlingham Bed & Breakfast whilst visiting London. Gilly's house is beautifully presented and she is a super hostess - seemingly concerned only with her guests' comfort and well-being. The breakfast is superb and is arguably one of the best to be had in London. The house also benefits from being in a very civilised neighbourhood and is only two minutes’ walk from Putney Bridge Tube on the District Line.

 

I cannot recommend it strongly enough!

 

Reviewed: October 2015 by Rupert Gatty

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

This was my second visit to Gilly's lovely B & B.  It is very comfortable, clean, in a good location and she serves a tasty breakfast with lovely fresh produce; Gilly's scrambled eggs are legendary!  Will definitely be back!
 

Reviewed: May 2015 by Ailsa

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

'mes beaux-parents voulaient un endroit authentique sur Fulham pour venir nous voir quelques jours. Ils ont adore la decoration, l'ambience et le petit dejeuner! Un beau voyage dans l'Angleterre traditionnelle avec un gout so British!une adresse a recommender!'
 

Reviewed: May 2015 by Dominique Nguyen Mallet

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

'Many thanks to Gilly Belfrage the owner for providing such a marvellous haven for us to stay at whilst we were attending a Hurlingham Club function the other week. The location was ideal, the accommodation like staying at home and all rounded off with a fullsome breakfast to start the day on. Look forward to returning again soon, many thanks.'

Reviewed: March 2015 by Ann & Nick

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

'We were extremely happy with our accomodations at Hurlingham.  Gilly the owner was attentive and caring and full of suggestions of where to go and what to do.  Our room was bright, airy and very comfortable.  We enjoyed the leisurely breakfasts which were deliciously English.  We would not hesitate to go back there if ever in London again

Reviewed: December 2014 by Philip & Liane

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

'If you are looking for a nice house in a residential neighbourhood to stay in london, this is the place.

 

This traditionally furnished British house is situated only 10mins walk from Chelsea borough, very well connectected to the city centre, around 30m from Piccadilly if you take the 14 bus or the tube at Putney Bridge station, which is only five minutes walk from the house. The rooms are very comfortable, all exterior with views to the sorrounding gardens and a lot of natural light, equiped with shower, bathroom and tv. Which gives you enough intimacy to feel like if you were home.

 

The house is very close to the river so you can take a walk or jog by the river side, there are walks that go through Putney Pier to the nearby parks. It has a big living room and big kitchen where Gilly, the owner and housekeeper, prepares a fantastic brekfast every morning consisting on freshly squeezed orange juice, fruit, scrambled eggs with bacon and toasts with coffee or tea. 

 

Gilly is always willing to help you out looking for plans you could do in London while you stay. Thanks to her son Dominic who runs a Sports Event company, she even got me tickets for the Rugby game that took place last saturday between England and New Zealand, incredible plan for saturday evening!

 

Is not just like a B&B but it feels like being invited to a friend's house in London.

 

Gilly and Dom, thank you very much for your hospitality and the great weekend I spent at your house.'

 

 

Reviewed: November 2014  by Leopoldo Heredia (Madrid, Spain) 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Hurlingham Bed and Breakfast in Chelsea is one of the best kept secrets in London.  A great find if you want a comfortable and homely stay in London.  The rooms are very comfortable and always clean, the beds comfortable and the breakfasts are what I look forward to most.  Gilly makes you feel very much at home and is always on hand to help you should you need something or the best place to eat.  I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here!

 

Reviewed: October 2014 by James Cook

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Very comfortable and ideal for The Hurlingham Club. Brilliant breakfast, best scrambled eggs and bacon. Fresh fruit and juice. Gilly goes out of her way to make you feel at home with great attention to detail. Hairdryers, water bottles, soaps and lots of towels. Good water pressure!"

Reviewed: June 2014 by Nigel Ironside

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

“The Hurlingham is an utterly charming place, in a blissfully quiet street, with an extremely helpful and attentive host in Gilly. It is very well located to enjoy both sides of London. It's 2 minutes to the Tube into town, 10-20 minutes by bus to Sloane Square (for shopping, eating, people watching, avoiding Ferraris and Range Rovers etc....). What also makes this B&B a delight is (and I only recognise this now as an Englishman living abroad), that it is so quintessentially English! The interior is very tasteful indeed, dotted with occasional discreet antiques and prints. It all makes you feel very much at home. And the rear courtyard garden must be a delight in full Summer. The bedrooms and bathrooms are kept nicely clean and there are none of the noisy plumbing issues that occasionally plague these lovely old Victorian properties. Breakfast was very nice, and Gilly was very flexible. She brews an excellent espresso in that pot of hers. There always seem to be plentiful parking outside or nearby, albeit expensive (but this is London, what can you expect?). But Gilly may be able to help you out with secret local parking info, depending on your arrival time.... All in all, very worth recommending.”

Reviewed: May 2014 by David James

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"My wife and I stayed with Gilly and were welcomed with a warmth that is rare these days. The location was perfect for us and the room and en-suite extremely comfortable...the breakfast great! Actually the breakfast was a very leisurely hour and a half, where most of the wrongs in the world were put right! To demonstrate Gilly's hospitality sje raced after us down the King's Road when she realised my wife had left her earrings on the room...I think enough said! Thanks Gilly and look forward to our next visit."

Reviewed: December 2013 by Philip Jordan

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Gorgeous gem of a B & B. Gilly is the most fabulous host and lovely lady, very comfortable stay, super breakfast. Very unique and refreshingly different...a special place.

Reviewed: 22nd November 2013 by Fiona and Peter Robinson

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Gilly Belfrage has the most welcoming Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the ideal location near The Hurlingham Club in South West London.

Fantastically comfortable beds and beautifully decorated rooms in a pretty Fulham house , with a secluded garden . You will find having stayed once , you will always want to come back the next time . "

Reviewed: September 2013 by Dirk Wharbuton

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

"Gilly Belfrage has the most welcoming Bed and Breakfast accommodation in the ideal location near The Hurlingham Club in South West London.

Fantastically comfortable beds and beautifully decorated rooms in a pretty Fulham house , with a secluded garden . You will find having stayed once , you will always want to come back the next time . "

“Un très grand merci pour la qualité de votre accueil particulièrement chaleureux. Votre bed and breakfast est fort joliment décoré avec beaucoup de goût et de passion, rendant ainsi vos chambres très confortables.Vos attentions et votre volonté constante de rendre service à vos hôtes assurent un climat très agréable. Vos petits déjeuners généreux ont été également des temps forts de notre séjour! Aussi nous avons quitté votre attachante maison avec le souvenir durable des bons moments passés ensemble: votre bed and breakfast mérite l’excellence!"
Reviewed: August 2013
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“Je recommande tout particulièrement ce B&B situé au :6, Grimston Rd à LONDRES SW6. Gilly Belfrage l’a joliment décoré avec beaucoup de goût en créant une atmosphère cosy, très soignée. L’accueil est fort chaleureux et Gilly manifeste plein d’attentions vis à vis de ses hôtes. Le petit déjeuner servi à l’anglaise est généreux. Mérite indiscutablement le détour!"
Reviewed: August 2013
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

"Sono appena tornata da una minivacanza di tre giorni Londinese. La casa di Gilly è piacevolmente british senza averne gli inconvienti, infatti non c'è moquette in nessun luogo tranne che nelle scale: ottima cosa in termini di igiene. La stanza al secondo piano è ampia e con il vantaggio del bagno incluso. La colazione è abbondante e varia, si può scegliere il classico eggs and bacon oppure frutta, yogurt, caffè, marmellate e burro accopagnati da succhi freschi e caffè. Gilly è una signora elegante che, nonostante un'apparente diffidenza iniziale, dimostra di essere molto disponibile ad offrire consigli ed informazioni su Londra. La casa è ubicata idealmente per scoprire una Londra un po' fuori dai soliti circuiti turistici, ma allo stesso tempo è a poche fermate di metropolitana da Piccadilly.Il rapporto qualità prezzo è senz'altro corretto se comparato ai prezzi stellari degli hotel della capitale"
Reviewed: July 2013
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

"Je reviens de Londres où je viens de passer un merveilleux week-end chez Gilly. L'endroit est absolument adorable et très cosy. Les chambres sont toutes plus belles les unes que les autres, la litterie est très confortable et la maison très silencieuse. Préparant son excellent "English Breakfast", Gilly ne manquera pas de vous conseiller sur les curiosités de Londres. La situation est idéale, quartier très calme mais à proximité d'une station de métro. Les beaux jours arrivants permettront de profiter d'un petit jardin très agréable. Je retournerai sans hésitation chez Gilly."
Reviewed: March 2013
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“Thank you for your warm welcome. Thank you for your fabulous breakfast. We have appreciate your house and your very comfortable beds! We have also appreciate to go to St Pancras with a taxi without running in the streets with all the luggages! We were so good that we have decided to come back."
Reviewed: November 2012
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“Gilly Belfrage welcomed me at her beautifully personalized B&B that she has with great passion restored in the past decade. An English cottage like intimate mood mixed with touches of heritage expressed throughout the house and it's four rooms. Most importantly the top quality of bedding and linens to add that boutiquey stay of quality with plenty of Molton Brown products at your disposal. Aside from her intimate hospitality as she prepares a traditional English breakfast e dry morning, Gilly's B&B offers a lovely garden to enjoy during a sunny London morning."
Reviewed: August 2012
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“Hurlingham Bed and Breakfast is a first-class B&B. It is very cosy and neat and very near to the Underground and to the bus stop, so you can easily reach numerous areas. Gilly is a wonderful hostess, always considerate and generous. The breakfast is gorgeous with high quality products. We definitely enjoyed our stay and recommend this B&B to anyone who wish to feel at home. Christine and Pierre-François from Paris. August 2012."
Reviewed: August 2012
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“I have just spent three weeks in Europe, most of which was spent in London where I stayed at the Hurlingham B & B. The B & B has a lovely homely and cosy atmosphere (I loved the decoration of the house) and Gilly made me feel as welcome as possible. I really appreciated all her tips and advices about where to go and things to do in London, although unfortunately I didn't have time to do it all. The accommodation was lovely and the breakfasts were superb! I honestly recommend the Hurlingham B & B to anyone who wishes to have an even greater time in London and I will definitely be staying there again."
Reviewed: August 2012
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“My good fortune to happen upon the Hurlingham B and B - found by a friend who lives in the area. Extremely pleased by everything: the clean and comfortable rooms, the location near a tube station and shopping streets, the breakfast, and the excellent value. Most importantly was the graciousness of the host, Gilly. She was most helpful and even arranged a most reasonable taxi service to Heathrow. The morning coffee was so robust and good that Gilly purchased for me her coffee making device. She also was a wealth of knowledge about events and venues in the neighborhood. Will be a repeat customer."
Reviewed: July 2012
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“My partner and I really enjoyed staying at Gilly Belfrages beautiful house. A warm welcome by Gilly and our beautifully arranged double room made us feel home right from the beginning of our 4-days trip to London. Gilly was always helpful when we needed some advice and pampered us with a delicious English breakfast with lots of fruit, so that we felt well prepared for the day. The location is a perfect place to start discovering London because of the near bus stop and tube station. The only thing we were missing was to have further time to enjoy more of London. So we will have to come back and will be glad then to stay at Gillys again. Absolutely recommendable."
Reviewed: July 2012
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“I stayed at Hurlingham Bed & Breakfast for one week and I truly enjoyed it here. The rooms are great and the breakfast is fantastic."
Reviewed: June 2012
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“I’m an associate producer at House Hunters on Vacation writing to let you know that the episode your property is featured in is currently scheduled to air on June 22nd at 8:30!   However, it could change at any time (HGTV doesn’t even let us know sometimes), so please check the HGTV.com website."
Reviewed: April 2012
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“Thank you Gilly for looking after Shoba and I so well this week - as always the rooms were spotless, everything available including internet access and fantastic breakfast too.... having easy access to delicious Italian food within walking distance even at 10pm makes it all very easy and workable....we will definitely be back.”
Reviewed: April 2012
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“I love staying with Gilly - its like a home from home. Warm personal service with excellent recommendations on where to go and what to do, in and around Fulham, Chelsea and Putney. Over the years we have stayed at Hurlingham Bed & Breakfast on many occasions. It is perfectly situated for the tennis at Wimbledon and Queen's Club, but its the attention to details that has always impressed me most. I can't recommend staying here highly enough - love it! and delivered with warm hospitality.”
Reviewed: March 2012
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“Hurlingham Bed & Breakfast is a perfect place for a relaxing stay in London. Situated in Fulham, a stroll away from Chelsea and Putney, what you get here is a really personalised service, comfy beds, quiet surroundings and the best breakfast in London! Gilly, the landlady looks after her clients well and it's the place I always stay when I visit London. I cannot recommend it highly enough. If you're tired of anonymous hotels and want to treat yourself to something extra special, then I recommend you try Hurlingham Bed and Breakfast.”
Reviewed: March 2012
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“We stayed here for 4 nights in March and had an amazing time. The first real highlight for us was the owner's affectionate dealing with us. In spite of our clumsy English, she was courteous at all times and then she gave us much advice on sightseeing in London. Owing to her, we spent a great time in London. Moreover, this B&B has so lovely rooms and has a good sense of interior design. Other services including breakfast are also outstanding....We can't say enough good things! We recommend Hurlingham B&B very highly, especially for the first-time visitors to London.”
Reviewed: February 2012
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -